29 years of Wedded Bliss, OK maybe not always Bliss

Today my Honey and I celebrate 29 years of wedded bliss.  OK maybe not always bliss.  We have been married more than half of my life.  I have known him since I was almost 12.

Many of you know our story, but some of you don’t.

Rod and I met when I was in foster care.  His sister Fay was my foster parent, who later became known as mom, and to this very day is my mom!  When we came into her care way back when, Rod was then considered my uncle and he was the cool kind of uncle that always brought his guitar and played songs we could hear off the radio and some goofy ones I’d never heard before.  One of which I heard on a cassette tape (yes this was back in the day) and I fell in love his voice from that point on.  I had a crush on him when I was 12 which I eventually out grew, since he was 12 years older than me and was committed to someone else at the time.

After I graduated and got a place of my own I became engaged and had asked Rod if he would sing at the wedding.  He refused.  I was heartbroken and very disappointed. How could my cool uncle Rod not sing, he did it for all the rest of the family!

A couple months more went by and I called off the engagement.  I discovered that being espoused to someone addicted to pot and an alcoholic was not a healthy choice and God got me out of there!

Another few  months later Fay, me, and Rod started hanging out on Friday and Saturday evenings going bowling, out to eat, and enjoying each other’s company.  Rod began coming over and we would tinker around in my dad’s workshop.  I was attempting to build a shelf and Rod had volunteered to help me.  I needed an oil change done on my Ford Torino and he went with me to K-Mart to get the supplies.  Simple adventures and a romance between Rod and I began.  We were kind of keeping it quiet for a while because of the age difference and knowing that once it was out, that I was dating my uncle, the family may be a bit undone.

We were right about being concerned.  It was hard at first.  Rod’s daughter was only 3 and a half when we started dating and people wanted to make sure she would not be confused and unsettled.  Many wondered how 2 people with the track record we each had could even be successful at dating, let alone getting married.

I have told many family members, friends, and others over the years the testimony of Rod and I.  How God is so good about turning things around.  He took two people that did everything backwards and created a new direction of forwards for us.  We are together today because of the great love we share for each other and in Jesus Christ.

We could never have surpassed the odds of still being married without the hope we have and belief we share in a Savior that heals and provides a way for each and every one of us.

Our life together is fairly simple in that we don’t do much in spending for celebration, but we do, do much, in recognizing the moment, each other, and God for such an incredible journey.  We will probably go grab a cup of coffee and take a brief walk to commemorate our day.  We have agreed to do the fancy meal after Valentine’s Day has come and gone and the prices return to somewhat normal.  (Part of the hazard of choosing a wedding date so close to the sweetheart’s day.)

Remember I mentioned above Rod not wanting to sing at my wedding to another man.  Well the truth about this came out later after Rod and I had been married for some time.  Rod confessed that he did not want to sing because he discovered he was jealous and did not want me to marry that man, but him.  (Ah how sweet)

Happy Anniversary to my Honey and Happy Valentine’s Day to those of you who are reading this, may God bless you and keep you always!

 

Here is a great story about keeping romance alive and well by an acquaintance of mine Jodi Dietrick

http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/localnews/2017478510_detrick11m.html

Posted on February 12, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

